Established in 2008 and sponsored in part by the Helen Zell Writers' Program at the University of Michigan, Canarium Books is an independent press dedicated to publishing poetry by established and emerging authors from the United States and abroad.

Please direct any queries or questions to the editors at: 


Editors: Joshua Edwards, Robyn Schiff, Nick Twemlow, and Lynn Xu

Managing Editor: Russell Brakefield


Before Canarium Books, there was The Canary, a magazine founded in 2002 and edited by Joshua Edwards, Anthony Robinson, and Nick Twemlow. In 2008, with the assistance of the University of Michigan, Canarium Books was formed with its first publication, Canarium 1. This anthology included poems by Ed Roberson, Arda Collins, Takashi Hiraide, Dunya Mikhail, and a dozen other poets. Canarium's single-author book series began the following year with Union! (Ish Klein) and The Tangled Line (Tod Marshall), and since then we've published The Waste Land and Other Poems (John Beer), The Irrationalist (Suzanne Buffam), Flowers (Paul Killebrew), Moving Day (Ish Klein), We Are Pharaoh (Robert Fernandez), A Fireproof Box (Gleb Shulpyakov, translated from the Russian by Christopher Mattison), Madame X (Darcie Dennigan), The Invention of Glass (Emmanuel Hocquard, translated from the French by Cole Swensen and Rod Smith), I Am Your Slave Now Do What I Say (Anthony Madrid), Great Guns (Farnoosh Fathi), Pink Reef (Robert Fernandez), Ethical Consciousness (Paul Killebrew), Bugle (Tod Marshall), Void and Compensation (Michael Morse), The Great Medieval Yellows (Emily Wilson), The Collected Poems of Chika SagawaConsolation and Mirth (Ish Klein), Lucinda (John Beer), A Pillow Book (Suzanne Buffam), and Palace of Subatomic Bliss (Darcie Dennigan). We publish three or four books of poetry each year.